The film ‘Remember Me’ is apparently an unforgettable love story regaling us with the tale of two kindred spirits who meet through an unusual twist of fate but find the circumstances that brought them together also threaten to tear them apart.

Ok I’ve not seen the film but if the soundtrack is anything to go by it sounds like they’ve gone for the ‘Now That’s What I Call Weepy’ jugular. Fourteen songs that don’t just skim the surface of melancholy but in places plunge into its depths. Examples from the likes of Sparklehorse and surprisingly Supergrass (who have long since left their cheeriness behind it would seem) and of course Sigur Ros who in fairness do deliver the album’s sweet spot with the devastatingly beautiful ‘Andvari’.

The tracks themselves are by no means bad by themselves, it just becomes problematic when you listen to them one after another. Six tracks in and your mood is is already starting to darken around the edges and by the time you get to the end. You feel like you want to sit in a hot bath with some gin and razor blades.

Unless I’m sorely mistaken this is not going to be the soundtrack to anyone’s summer unless they like sitting in their room making funny marks on their arms with sharp things.

Truly depressing, but for those who want to plough onwards its out on April 19th, below is the tracklisting.

1. Alien Lover – Luscious Jackson
2. Play On – Kottonmouth Kings
3. Kandles – National Skyline
4. Soft Shoulder – Ani DiFranco
5. Have Mercy – Two Ton Boa
6. Hanging With The Wrong Crowd  
7. Why Did We Ever Meet – The Promise Ring
8. You Can See Me  – Supergrass
9. Sea of Teeth  – Sparklehorse
10. Andvari – Sigur Ros
11. Parasol – The Sea and Cake
12. Soul Brother – Us3
13. Open Wide –  Long Hind Legs
14. The Sun Keeps Shining On Me – Fonda