What’s on the horizon as we limp through January in a midst of detox induced madness. Well for starters Elbow have released a track listing for the up and coming March release of their next album ‘The Seldom Seen Kid’.

1. Starlings
2. The Bones Of You
3. Mirrorball
4. Grounds For Divorce
5. An Audience With The Pope
6. Weather To Fly
7. The Loneliness of a Towercrane Driver
8. The Fix
9. Some Riot
10. One Day Like This
11. Friend Of Ours

In Guy Garvey’s own words: “This record is the one of which we are most proud for many reasons but to put it very simply we did it all on our own. Craig has taken the helm and we have recorded produced and mixed the whole thing without any outside help.

Guillemots fans can also take heed as they prepare to release their second studio album ‘Red’ is out through Polydor on March 24th. Preceding it by a week will be the opening single ‘Get Over It’

Rascal Flatts releasing the single ‘What Hurts The Most’, obviously taking a leaf out of the reformed Take That’s book. This lot are going for the big emotional ballad complete with wailing guitars, the odd bit of cod Gaelic stringwork and more bleach in the barnets of the band than you could shake a stick at. What hurts the most is having to listen to the single more than once. Shocking stuff.

Finally Beth Rowley hits the road for a number of dates in London as a prelude to the release of her new single “Oh My Life” on March 3rd, if you haven’t encountered her before then nip over to her myspace page and have a listen to what she has on offer, of note is a gorgeous rendition of “Be My Baby” and if that doesn’t make your ears tingle nothing will. Here are those dates…

Oxford, Zodiac- Tom Baxter support
LIVE – 29.01.2008
London, Shepherds Bush Empire- Tom Baxter support
– 31.01.2008
London, Cherry Jam Residency
– 12.02.2008
London, Cherry Jam Residency
– 26.02.2008
Dublin, Olympia Theatre- Tom Baxter support
– 28.02.2008
The Roundhouse
– 06.03.2008